Welcome to London! The Adventure Begins…

My first couple of weeks in London have been the best and the worst of times. Landing in a new city has the thrill of excitement, of course: Every sight is almost an adventure in itself.

The London Eye, Tower Bridge, a new currency to get used to, hearing the British accent (and about a dozen other languages/accents on my walk through the airport terminal) are all more than welcome experiences. After all, it’s what you expect as a student coming to a new country.

But as soon as the novelty wears off, the panic sets in. Where can I exchange my money? How much will groceries cost? What if my flatmates aren’t friendly? There’s a seemingly endless flood of newfound queries about how life abroad will be. But then that’s part of the adventure too.

IMG_3978

It always helps to have a band of equally novice Londoners to explore with, and I’ve been extremely lucky in that respect. One thing I would recommend to anyone studying abroad: have at least one roommate. If nothing else, they can teach you about yourself, and give you the opportunity to mingle with new (possibly amazing) people.

One last thing to note: No matter how prepared you think you are, you’re not.

I’m the type of person who tends to plan everything out as much as is humanly possible. I made my packing list, I researched the cost of living, I documented everything I would take with me, I still came up short. But that’s ok, you just have to learn to roll with it. I’ve found that life over here should be more organic, less regimented, and far more emphasis should be on exploration, cultural education and fun.

I’m extremely grateful for this experience thus far, from boating down the Thames to Greenwich to exploring the Shoreditch hipster scene. I can’t wait to see what other adventures I’ll stumble upon!

Leave a comment